No. 11A, First Floor, Jalan SS15/2A, 47500 Subang Jaya Selangor
+603-5612 7769

Malaysian National Intervarsity Debating Championship 2016 – Joint Press Release


For immediate release


200 Students from 17 universities and colleges compete in third iteration of championship

Kuala Lumpur, 27 November 2016 – Asia Pacific University of Technology & Innovation (APU) and the Malaysian Institute for Debate & Public Speaking (MIDP), co-organised the third Malaysian National Intervarsity Debating Championship, with the support of the Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia.

The primary role of the championship is giving university and college students a competitive platform to showcase their skills in critical thinking, knowledge of a vast array of topics as well as their confidence in debating and public speaking. The championship attracted some of Malaysia’s most talented and brightest young minds including Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM), International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM), and Universiti Malaya, among others.

The championship traditionally showcased the best in what Malaysia’s debate community has to offer. Last year’s winning team of Mohd Mifzal Mohd Murshid Kieron and Jasmine Ho, representing Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) had gone on to perform exceptionally well in this year’s World Universities Debating Championship in Thessaloniki, Greece by ranking second overall. Last year’s Finals Best Speaker, Mubarrat Wassey from International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) was recently awarded the Overall Best Speaker in the 2016 Cambridge Inter-Varsity Debate, one of the most prestigious debate tournaments in the world.

The championship tested the participants in their current knowledge and understanding of the economic, social, political topics as well as trending global issues covering social harmony, welfare, old age, amongst other things.

The championship followed the British Parliamentary format, which saw teams of two (2) debaters each, debate in five (5) preliminary rounds. Each debate will have four (4) teams representing Opening Government, Opening Opposition, Closing Government and Closing Opposition.

The prizes include the Challenge Trophy, Trophies and Cash Prizes for various categories including Champions, Finals Best Speaker, Overall Best Speaker, Top Ten Best Speakers, Best Adjudicator and Finalists.

As organisers for the Malaysian Nationals Intervarsity Championship for the third consecutive year, the Malaysian Institute for Debate and Public Speaking (MIDP) expressed pride in fulfilling their promise to organise the championship annually, and hope that the championship will continue to give local debaters exposure to meet the international standards of debating, and inspire other youths to take up debating.

“The Asia Pacific University of Technology & Innovation has consistently and continuously invested in, and supported debating as a co-curricular activity. The university’s debate society celebrates its 7th anniversary this year with accolades to be proud of including ranking 24th at the World Universities Debating Championship 2015. We truly believe that critical thinking, speaking and presentation skills are one of the core pillars that formulate the success of students in the future. We always have and will continue to support the growth of debating in Malaysia, and would like to express our gratitude to those who make this possible especially the Malaysian Institute for Debate and Public Speaking for their initiatives, and the Ministry of Youth & Sports for their support” said Mr Gurpardeep Singh, Vice President, Operations, APIIT Education Group.

“For the third edition of the championship, our focus was to extend participation to as many institutions of higher education as we can in order to deliver a truly diverse and inclusive national debating championship. I would personally like thank the Asia Pacific University for co-organising this championship, and to the Ministry of Youth and Sports for their continued support of the Malaysian public speaking and debate community” said Ahmed Faris, Chief Executive Officer of Malaysian Institute for Debate and Public Speaking.




Debate Leadership Award: Mifzal Mohammed, UT MARA
Debating Institution of the Year: Universiti Teknologi MARA
Outstanding Adjudicator Award: Mifzal Mohammed
Outstanding Achievement of the Year: Ameera Moore & Mubarrat Wassey, IIUM
Contingent Achievement of the Year: International Islamic University Malaysia
Newcomer of the Year Amrit Agastia: Taylor’s University
Debater of the Year: Mubarrat Wassey, IIUM


First: Mubarrat Wassey, IIUM
Second: Ameera Natasha Moore, IIUM
Third: Mifzal Mohammed, UT MARA
Fourth: Jainah Jaafar, UT MARA
Fifth: Jasmine Ho Abdullah, UT MARA
Sixth: Amrit Agastia, Taylor’s University
Seventh: Izzat Arif, UT MARA
Tied Eighth: Shitab Daiyan Akash, IIUM
Tied Eighth: Felice Wong Jing-Yi, Taylor’s University
Tied Eighth: Leeroy Ting, University of Malaya


Finals Best Speaker: Amrit Agastia, Taylor’s University
Champion: UT MARA A (Mifzal Mohammed & Jasmine Ho Abdullah)
Finalist: Brickfields Asia College (Kelvin Manuel & Wesley)
Finalist: Taylor’s University (Amrit Agastia & Felice Wong Jing-Yi)
Finalist: UT MARA B (Jainah Jaafar & Izzat Arif)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *